Doctor Who?

I just watched the first episode of the first season of Matt Smith as Doctor Who. It was really great. I was pleasantly surprised. I had previously used Netflix to try watching the incarnation with Christopher Eccleston as the Doctor.  And was less than intrigued.

Doctor Who still holds a certain nostalgia for me. As a young child I would watch episodes on PBS and was utterly mystified by the concept. Back then special effects were not so very special. Imagination was required to enjoy such fantastical forays into the blatant science fiction. As a kid I was thrilled by the concept of the Doctor and his tme travelling TARDIS and the crazy monsters he made it his mission to vanquish. Yes, years ago, PBS actually had programs worth watching.

Nothing against Eccleston, but that edition kinda soured me on the whole series. It was just lacking something. Some spark that ignites great science fiction shows. I forgot about Doctor Who for a long time until there was a write up about it in the TV Guide. The article piqued my interested anew. And having watched Matt Smith be born into the role in a stellar first episode my interest was reignited. I am very much looking forward to watching further episodes.

Leave a Reply

